The Battery | About the Battery (New)
11480
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-11480,page-parent,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-10.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2,vc_responsive
 

The Battery Conservancy

 

 

The Battery, New York City’s first waterfront park was created in 1693. Some 300 years later, private citizens established The Battery Conservancy to raise funds to transform the 25 acre landscape which had become dilapidated, downtrodden and overlooked as a sought-after destination.

 

Today it is the thriving green heart of dynamic Downtown New York.  It is a model of conservation and biodiversity with vast public gardens, organic urban farms, toxin-free lawns and SeaGlass, the innovative aquarium carousel. It has set high standards in planning, design, construction and sustainable park management.

ABOUT_BOARDABOUT_STAFFABOUT_EMPLOYMENT

Slide1

Slide2

Slide3

Slide4

Slide5

Slide6

Slide7

Slide8

Slide9

Slide10

Slide12

Slide13

Slide14

Slide15

Slide16

Slide17

kiosk 2008

Slide20

The Battery Bikeway, 2005

bikeway cropped

The Battery Bikeway, 2016

Slide22

The Battery Oval, 2005

Slide23

The Battery Oval, 2016

Slide24

The Conservancy’s success:
– foster great design
– obtain civic approvals
– raise funds
– build to a standard of excellence
– deliver projects on time and on budget

To download The Battery Conservancy’s audited financial statements, please click on the links below.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

William C. Rudin, Chairman
Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Rudin Management Company

 

Frederic C. Rich, Vice Chairman
Counsel, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP

 

Warrie PricePresident
Founder, The Battery Conservancy

 

Frank J. Bisignano, Vice President
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, First Data

 

Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Vice President
President, Foundation for Landscape Studies

 

Jeffrey P. Hughes, Treasurer
Vice Chairman, The Cypress Group

 

Mark E. Almeida, Secretary
President, Moody’s Analytics

 

Elizabeth H. Atwood
Philanthropist

 

Marty Burger
Chief Executive Officer, Silverstein Properties, Inc.

 

Kristen Dickey

 

Robert L. Goldstein
Chief Operating Officer, BlackRock

 

Alan W. Kornberg
Partner at Paul,Weiss

 

Jessica Lappin
President, Alliance for Downtown New York

Deborah Needleman

 

Robert T. O’Rourke
Senior Managing Director, Guardian Life Insurance Company of America

 

Marissa Shorenstein
President, AT&T New York

 

Ex–Officio Trustees

 

Joshua Laird
Commissioner, National Parks of New York Harbor

 

Rose Harvey
Commissioner, New York State Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation

 

Mitchell J. Silver
Commissioner, City of New York Parks & Recreation

 

William Castro
Manhattan Borough Commissioner, City of New York Parks & Recreation

 

Gale Brewer
Manhattan Borough President

 

Margaret Chin
New York City Council Member, 1st District of Manhattan

 

Anthony Notaro
Chairperson, Manhattan Community Board 1

Conservancy Staff

 

Warrie Price, President and Founder

Hope Cohen, Chief Operating Officer, hope.cohen@thebattery.org, x10

 

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Lilli Fisher, Executive Assistant to the President, lilli.fisher@thebattery.org, x12

 

OPERATIONS

Steve Lagerstrom, Director of Operations and Technology, steve.lagerstrom@thebattery.org, x15

Sean Kiely, Park Manager, sean.kiely@thebattery.org, x23

Josie Connell, Deputy Park Manager, josie.connell@thebattery.org, x13

Gabriela Marin, Chief Horticulturist, gabriela.marin@thebattery.org, x22

Gerard Brown, Crew Chief, gerard.brown@thebattery.org 

Quanzetta Hayward, Crew Chief, quanzetta.hayward@thebattery.org

David White, Gardener, david.white@thebattery.org

Matthew Shaw, Gardener, matthew.shaw@thebattery.org

Donnell White, Groundskeeper, donnell.white@thebattery.org

Curtis Thomas, Groundskeeper, curtis.thomas@thebattery.org

 

DEVELOPMENT

Elizabeth Steeves, Development Manager, elizabeth.steeves@thebattery.org, x21

Eve Rickles-Young, Development and Marketing Associate, eve.ricklesyoung@thebattery.org, x19

 

To volunteer, please email volunteer@thebattery.org.

The main phone number is (212) 344-3491

Employment Opportunities

 

 

All jobs are currently filled. If you’d like to get to know us, please come volunteer with us!

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Instagram